Buemi wins Punta del Este ePrix

  • Sebastien Buemi Formula E
  • Aguri Formula E
  • Renaul e.Dams Formula E
  • Amlin Andretti Formula E
  • Formula E Mahindra Racing

Renault e.Dams driver Sebastien Buemi scored the second victory in the Formula E season 2015/2016 as he won the Punta del Este ePrix after excellent drive in the opening phase of the race. Buemi’s triumph is even bigger knowing he had serious crash earlier during free practice.



For the first time in his career, Jerome D’Ambrosio won Formula E pole position beating in super pole battle his team-mate Loic Duval, so Dragon Racing team occupied front row. Sam Bird was third, while Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi, who led the way during group stages qualifying, made a mistakes during super pole shoot-out and finished on fourth and fifth respectively.


Amlin Andretti Formula E

Amlin Andretti at Punta del Este ePrix


Jacques Villeneuve was forced to miss the race after he ht the wall drung qualifying session. Sadly, damage on the car of former Formula 1 champion was too heavy for mechanics to repair it.



D’Ambrosio managed to keep first position after the start, while Sam Bird started perfectly and jumped to second, overtaking Duval. But, the standings were changed quickly as Buemi was much quicker than the rest of the grid, so in lap 7 he was just behind leader, while in the next lap Swiss driver went to the top overtaking Belgian from Dragon Racing team.


Formula E Mahindra Racing

Mahindra Racing during Formula E Punta del Este ePrix


Bird dropped to fifth before the change of the cars, while Buemi looked pretty confident on the top, holding his rivals well behind. Abt Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi on fourth also pushed hard to reduce a gap before pitting and battery of his car was in a bit better condition comparing to those who were in front of him.


That proved to be important as after pit-stop di Grassi moved up to second, while Buemi still had comfortable lead. But, in lap 21, after Sam Bird stopped on track and retired, full course yellow flag was announced and gaps were tightened. After restart, Brazilian driver of Abt Schaeffler team had a chance to overtake Buemi, but Swiss defended well.


Champion crashed in last lap

Finally, he won the race well ahead of di Grassi, while D’Ambrosio completed the podium finishing third. Remaining points were scored by Loic Duval, Nicolas Prost, Antonio Felix da Costa, Daniel Abt, Jean-Eric Vergne, Stephane Sarrazin and Robin Frijns.


Aguri Formula E

Aguri Formula E at Punta del Este ePrix


Reigning champion Nelson Piquet Jr. failed to finish the race after he crashed in last lap. Brazilian before the crash had a contact with Jean-Eric Vergne and when he tried to defend his position, he made a mistake which kicked him out of the race.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!


Photo: fiaformulae.com

Related Posts