Gordon Shedden is 2015 British Touring Car Champion

Gordon Shedden is 2015 British Touring Car Champion! Scotsman grabbed his second BTCC title in a fantastic last race of the season at Brands Hatch GP Circuit. Shedden started from 19th place on the grid and progressed to 4th, securing enough points to take the title despite the victory of his only rival Jason Plato (Team BMR). After 3o races Shedden collected 348 points, four more than Plato.


Plato made a maximum and won with 3.5s advantage ahead of Mat Jackson in Motorbase Performance’s Ford, but Shedden’s heroic drive didn’t leave any possibility to give up taking the trophy. In the last lap Shedden almost took the podium place, but Jack Goff was only 0.13 seconds faster. For his podium spot, Goff can be thankful to Matt Neal, who let him and Shedden forward in penultimate lap.


Action packed race was interrupted with three Safety car interventions in the early phase, after accidents which caused retirement of Jake Hill, Tom Ingram, Stewart Lines and Dave Newsham. Gordon Shedden was progressing through the field and reached the top 6 in Lap 6. He could have remained there with enough points for the title, but in the finishing laps with incredible drive he moved up and proved that he deserved the title.


Matt Neal finished fifth and with 317 points he was 3rd in the championship classification. After two podiums earlier today Adam Morgan in WIX Racing’s Mercedes finished sixth in Race 3. Rob Collard, Andrew Jordan, Aron Smith and Andy Priaulx rounded up the Top 10. Colin Turkington finished 12th and took Independent’s title. Manufacturer’s title goes to Honda Yuasa Racing.

Related Posts