IndyCar: Scott Dixon wins Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway

Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing) wins Firestone 600 race at Texas Motor Speedway, ahead teammate Tony Kanaan and Helio Castroneves (Team Penske). Dixon led 97 of 248 laps in the #9 Energizer EcoAdvanced Chevrolet to eanr his second season’s victory and his second at Texas Motor Speedway.


Race was extremly fast, with only one caution period, so with 191.940 mph average speed new track record was set. Dixon’s victory was dominant, because Kanaan finished 7.8000 seconds behind. It was Dixon’s 37th IndyCar win and the 99th Indy car victory for team owner Chip Ganassi.




Dixon is third in the standings through nine of 16 races – 43 points behind front-runner Juan Pablo Montoya, who was fourth in Firestone 600 race. Montoya increased his points advantage to 35 over Team Penske teammate Will Power. Marco Andretti, who started 11th and finished fifth, was sixth in championship oreder. In front of him are Helio Castroneves i Graham Rahal.


Next race will be Honda Indy Toronto next Sunday (June 14th).



Related Posts