Nelson Piquet Jr. is the first Formula E champion

Finale of the inaugural FIA Formula E season couldn’t be more dramatic, but what is most important is that Nelson Piquet Jr. won the championship title at London ePrix. It was a tight battle between NEXTEV TCR driver and Sebastien Buemi, but Brazilian at the end was better and won the title by one point margin.


The track in Battersea Park was partially changed after Saturday’s race. The troublesome area at turn 1 has since been resurfaced and the track returned to its original layout.


Last race winner Buemi was in best position of all title contenders as he started from sisxth place and immediately moved to fifth. Lucas Di Grassi progressed from 11th to 9th, while championship leader Piquet jumped three places up to 12th place.


In the seventh lap race was yellow-flaged after Sakon Yamamoto went straight into Jarno Trulli and that was the end of the race for the Japanese rookie who showed he is probably still too “green” for this level of racing.




Buemi just had to be patient and finish the race to take a title, as Piquet and Di Grassi were three and five positions behind with almost no chance to change the situation. Team e.dams Renault driver after completing pit-stop spinned on the track and lost couple of seconds, falling to sixth place, just in front of Di Grassi, while Piquet stayed 10th.


Stephane Sarrazin who was on pole position, still was the leader of the race, Loic Duval was second with ten laps to go and Sam Bird was third. Yellow flag was shown again in lap 20 and safety car was deployed after Fabio Leimer went into the barriers. In that moment, Buemi still had trophy in his hands as he was two points in front of Pique.


In the last few laps Piquet desperately pushed to move up or score fastest lap to overtake Buemi in championship standings and with six laps to go, Brazilian moved up to eighth. Now Buemi had to fight with Bruno Senna who defended well, working a good job for his compatriot. Buemi tried everything he could do, but couldn’t go up so he lost the chance to became a champion.




Sam Bird (Virgin Racing) won the race in front of Jerome D’Ambrosio, who was second on Saturday too, and Loic Duval after Stephane Sarrazin, who was in the lead throughout whole race, was penalised because of the energy overusage. Bruno Senna finished fourth, Buemi fifth and Lucas Di Grassi sixth, while champion Piquet finished at seventh place, just enough to secure the title.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!

Related Posts