Sebastien Buemi and Renault e.dams are 2015/2016 Formula E champions!

  • Sebastien Buemi and Nico Prost, renault e.dams

Sebastien Buemi is the 2015/2016 FIA Formula E champion! After he lost last season’s title by one point, the Swiss driver clinched the championship title in the second Formula E season with two points gap ahead of Brazilian Lucas di Grassi. The decisive moment for the title was the fastest lap in today’s second race of the London ePrix, the last round of the championship.

Buemi and Di Grassi entered the last race with the same amount of points. Both have 153 points. Buemi started from the pole, Di Grassi was third on the grid. Buemi’s teammate Nico Prost was between them. After ten seconds of racing, Di Grassi crashed into Buemi’s back and it seems that the race was over for both. But, the real excitement just started.

Both driver recovered and limped to the pit area, to change the cars. As they had no chance to catch the points in the race, Di Grassi and Buemi had only one choice – to set the fastest lap and earned two additional points. After few attempts, Buemi was faster and with additional points he deserved the title.

Sebastien Buemi

Buemi celebrates the title

Buemi’s teammate Nicolas Prost won the race, the second in a row, after yesterday’s victory on the same race track, to confirm the domination of the Renault e.dams team in the champpionship. The team, led by Alain Prost and Jean-Paul Driot, wins the second consecutive Formula E title.

Daniel Abt and Jerome d’ Ambrosio completed the Sunday’s podium. In the Saturday’s race, Bruno Senna and Jean-Eric Vergne were second and third.

Check the full results of the London ePrix

Photos: Press Renault,

Related Posts