Tekno Autosports' Davison and Webb winners of Bathurst 1000

  • 2016 Bathurst 1000 winners Will Davison and Jonathon Webb
  • Bathurst 1000 winners - Will Davison and Jonathon Webb (Tekno Autosports)
  • Jonathon Webb and Will Davison - 2016 Bathurst 1000 winners
  • Jonathon Webb and Will Davison - 2016 Bathurst 1000 winners

Will Davison and Jonathon Webb are the winners of 2016 edition of Bathurst 1000. The Tekno Autosports’ duo in the #19 Darrell Lea Stix Holden Commodore win the greatest Australian race after a thrilling last lap duel between Davison and Shane Van Gisbergen in the #97 Red Bull’s Holden.

Davison crossed the finish line with 0.1434sec advantage over Van Gisbergen to take his second victory at Mount Panorama in a career. For his co-driver Jonathon Webb, this was maiden Bathurst 1000 victory, but he becames the first driver in a history to win both Bathurst 1000 and Bathurst 12 Hours in the same year. In February, he was a member of Tekno Autosports’ crew which won the GT endurance race.

Van Gisbergen’s co-driver in today’s race was Alexandre Premat. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport’s Nick Percat and Cameron McConville completed the podium.

Bathurst 1000, Whincup, Dumbrell

Whincup/Dumbrell started from pole and finished 11th

The crucial monent of the race happened ten laps before the end, when three leading cars of Jamie Whincup, Garth Tander and Scott McLaughlin collided. Tander’s Holden and McLaughlin’s Volvo hit the barrier and retired. Whincup continued to race but he was handed 15 seconds penalty so he finished 11th in the final classification.

Cameron Waters and Jack Le Brocq finished fourth in the Monster Energy’s #6 Falcon, as the best-placed Ford’s crew. Two more Fords followed at fifth and sixth, with DJR Team Penske’s crews in cars: Scott Pye/Tony D’Alberto and Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden. Tim Slade and Ash Walsh were seventh in the Freightliner Racing’s Holden, ahead of two Nissans. Michael Caruso and Dean Fiore were the best Nissan’s crew in 8th, Dale Wood and David Russell finished 9th. Team Cooldrive’s Tim Blanchard and Macauley Jones rounded out the Top 10.

Check the full results of Bathurst 1000

Photo: tekno.com.au, supercars.com

Related Posts