Career Summary:

Jonathon Webb

  • December 10, 1983
  • 40
  • Australia
  • Supercars Championship
  • 384
  • Tekno Autosports
  • 20
  • 60
  • 6
  • 16
  • 5.21%
  • 15.63%

Jonathon Webb is an Australian racing driver and a team owner of Tekno Autosports. Webb reached a peak of his career in 2016, winning two great races at the Mount Panorama Circuit Bathurst 12 Hour and Bathurst 1000.

Besides managing the team, Webb serves as endurance driver for Tekno Autosports in the V8 Supercars Championship. Earlier in a career, he spent four full seasons in the championship from 2010 to 2013. He has four V8SC victories on his account so far.

Jonathon Webb

Jonathon Webb

Four seasons in the Carrera Cup early in a career

Jonathon Webb was born in December 1983 in Castle Hill, New South Wales, in a family of racing driver Steve Webb, who ran a family team Tekno Autosports. Jonathon started his racing career in 2003, entering the Porsche Carrera Cup Australia with the family team. He finished 8th in the points in his rookie season.

Year by year, Webb was progressing in the Carrera Cup, finishing 6th in 2004 and then scoring his first win in 2005, when he was third in the final standings, behind Fabian Coulthard and Jim Richards.

V8 Supercars debut with Paul Cruickshank Racing in 2006

Webb's last season in the Carrera Cup was 2006. He was driving for Paul Cruickshank Racing and finished fifth in the final standings with just one podium on his account.

In 2006, Webb made his V8 Supercars debut with Paul Cruickshank Racing, as an endurance co-driver to Marcus Marshall in the #20 Ford BA Falcon. They were 25th at Sandown 500 and retired at Bathurst 1000.

Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series champion in 2009

In 2007, Webb fully switched to V8 Supercar racing, entering the Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series (today Super2 Series) with the family team, driving the Stone Brothers Racing-prepared #94 Ford BA Falcon. Scoring one victory, Webb was fourth in his first season. In 2008, He improved to third in the same car, again winning one race over the season.

In 2009, Webb moved to the MW Motorsport team, driving the #26 Ford. After a slow start of the season, he won six times in the second half of the season to take the championship title ahead of James Moffat.

Jonathon Webb was the 2009 Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series champion

Jonathon Webb was the 2009 Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series champion

Regular endurance co-driver until 2009

While competing full-time in the Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series, Webb continued to serve as an endurance co-driver in the V8 Supercars Championship. In 2007, he partnered John Bowe in the #111 Paul Cruickshank Racing's Ford, finishing 12th at Sandown and 14th at Bathurst.

In 2008, Webb was driving the #9 Ford Falcon for Stone Brothers Racing alongside Shane van Gisbergen. In three endurance races, their best result was 10th place at Phillip Island. In 2009, Webb joined Dick Johnson Racing to drive the #18 Ford FG Falcon together with Warren Luff. They were 6th at Phillip Island and retired at Bathurst 1000.

Winning the Dubai 24 Hours in 2008

While racing in Australian V8 Supercars championships, Webb also occasionally participated in some other competitions (Carrera Cup, Porsche GT3 Cup New Zealand, Mini Challenge) but also in GT endurance races.

In 2008, he won the Dubai 24 Hours, together with Craig Baird, Klark Quinn and Tony Quinn in a VIP Pet Foods Porsche 911 GT3 RSR. Driving the same car, he also made a debut at Nurburgring 24 Hours, not finishing the race. In 2009, he made a debut at Bathurst 12 Hour, not finishing the race in a Nissan 350Z.

Jonathon Webb's #19 Ford Falcon in 2010

Jonathon Webb's #19 Ford Falcon in 2010

2010 – maiden V8SC victory at Homebush Street Circuit

In 2010, with V8 Supercar Series championship trophy in his hands, Webb entered his first full season in the V8 Supercars Championship. Tekno Autosports formed a technical alliance with Dick Johnson Racing, running the #19 Ford FG Falcon for Webb.

After five top 10 results during the season, Jonathon Webb scored his maiden V8SC victory in the season's finale at Homebush Street Circuit in Sydney. He was 13th in the points at the end of the season. In endurance races, his partners were David Russell and Sebastien Bourdais.

Independent team since 2011

For the 2011 V8SC season, Tekno Autosports ended an association with Dick Johnson Racing, establishing itself as an independent team, but with a support from Triple Eight Race Engineering.

Webb spent one more season in the #19 Ford FG Falcon, not scoring wins or podiums to finish 21st in the points. His best result during a season was fourth place at the Homebush Street Circuit. In endurance races, he was sharing a car with Richard Lyons and Gil de Ferran.

Jonathon Webb #19 Holden Commodore

Jonathon Webb spent two full seasons in the #19 Holden

Switching to Holden Commodore in 2012

In 2012, Tekno Autosports switched to Holden VF Commodore, prepared by Triple Eight. Webb stayed in the #19 car and he was joined by Michael Patrizi as the second driver in the #91 Holden.

It was one more winless season for Webb and he finished 12th in the points. His endurance co-drivers were Scott McLaughlin (6th at Bathurst) and Marc Lieb (2nd at Gold Coast).

2013 - the last full season in the V8 Supercars Championship

The season 2013 was the last full season for Webb in the V8 Supercars Championship. Driving the #19 Holden, he was the event winner of the Skycity Triple Crown despite not winning the race. He was on a podium in the season's finale at Sydney, finishing 12th in the final points.

Webb's endurance co-driver in 2013 was Marc Lieb. They were 12th a Bathurst 1000 and 10th in the first race of the Gold Coast 600 event.

Jonathon Webb 2014

Jonathon Webb reduced his V8SC programme in 2014

Two wins at the Surfers Paradise in 2014 and 2015

In 2013, Webb stepped out from full-time driving duties, downgrading the team to just one car for Shane van Gisbergen. Webb was his endurance co-driver in the #97 Holden VF Commodore, scoring his second V8SC victory in the first race of the Gold Coast 600 event at the Surfers Paradise Street Circuit. At Bathurst 1000, they started from pole and led the race but dropped to 16th after some mechanical problems.

In 2015, Webb rejoined Shane van Gisbergen in the #97 Holden and they were winners again in the first race at Surfers Paradise. At Bathurst 1000, they finished 8th.

Jonathon Webb and Will Davison with 2016 Bathurst 1000 trophy

Jonathon Webb and Will Davison with 2016 Bathurst 1000 trophy

What a year – wins at Bathurst 12h and Bathurst 1000

In February 2016, Webb started a year with a victory at Bathurst 12 Hour race, sharing the #59 McLaren 650S GT3 with Shane van Gisbergen and Alvaro Parente. Shane van Gisbergen departed the team ahead of 2016 V8 Supercars season and he was replaced by Will Davison.

Webb was Davison's endurance co-driver in the #19 Holden Commodore. After finishing third at Sandown 500, the highlight of the year came three weeks later at the Mount Panorama when Webb and Davison won the Bathurst 1000.

In 2017, Webb joined Davison again in endurance races but without notable results. In 2018, Jack Le Brocq was driving the #19 Holden for Tekno Autosports and Webb joined him in Supercars endurance races.They were 15th at Bathurst 1000.

Jonathon Webb in 2017

Jonathon Webb in 2017

Photos: Jonathon Webb, Tekno Autosports,