NASCAR Cup Series: Kurt Busch wins Daytona 500 for the first time

  • Kurt Busch wins 2017 Daytona 500

Kurt Busch finally writes his name on the winners list of the Daytona 500. After he was close three times, finishing second in 2003, 2005 and 2008, the 38-year-old driver of Stewart-Hass Racing’s #41 Ford Fusion captures his maiden Daytona 500 victory on Sunday, in the opening race of the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. For Busch, it was 29th Cup Series win in a career and his first ever at Daytona International Speedway.

With damaged car, held together with tape, Kurt Busch grabbed the lead on the final lap of the 59th edition of the Great American Race, beating Ryan Blaney in Wood Brothers Racing #21 Ford. AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola and Paul Menard completed the Top 5. Before that last lap, Kurt Busch wasn’t in the lead neither one lap.

Stage wins for Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick

Kevin Harvick led for most laps (50), then pole-sitter Chase Elliott (39), in a race that featured a new three-stage race format. Kyle Busch won the first 60-lap stage, then crashed out on Lap 105, collecting Toyota teammates Erik Jones and Matt Kenseth.

Kevin Harvick was the winner of Stage 2 but finished only in the 22nd place, three laps down, after being a victim in the 17-car pileup on Lap 128. Kurt Busch’s car was also damaged in that accident but he managed to win with such a car.

Check full results of Daytona 500

Photos: Getty Images/,

Related Posts