Trophee Andros: Fourth consecutive title for Jean-Baptiste Dubourg

  • Jean-Baptiste Dubourg, Trophee Andros champion
  • Jean-Baptiste Dubourg, Trophee Andros champion

Jean-Baptiste Dubourg (DA Racing/Renault Captur) captured his fourth consecutive championship title in the Trophee Andros ice racing championship. He secured enough points for a new celebration in the penultimate race during the last round of the championship at Super-Besse Circuit.

He was fourth in the first race of Elite Pro class, behind Frank Lagorce (Exagon Engineering/Andros Sport), Nathanael Berthon and Olivier Panis (both in Comtoyou Racing Audi A1 quattro). That result gives Dubourg a championship title but he didn’t rest on his laurels and he won the second race of the weekend. Berthon and Panis were again on a podium.

JB Dubourg Renault Captur

JB Dubourg’s championship-winning Renault

Dubourg has 559 points on his account, thirty-five more than Aurelien Panis (Sainteloc Racing/Plastic’Up) and thirty-nine more than Franck Lagorce. The Elite class champion for season 2018-2019 is Dorian Boccolacci (Team CMR/BMW M2) while Christophe Ferrier took the title in the Electrique class.

The season’s finale would be the event at Stade de France in Paris on February 9 with plenty of exhibition races. The event will be a celebration of the 30th anniversary of Andros Trophy. There will be some racing stars from other disciplines participating in the event, such are Sebastien Loeb and Andreas Bakkerud, and Sebastien Ogier will have a demonstration run in his Citroen C3 WRC.

Photos: Trophee Andros,

Related Posts