IMSA: Close fights in all three classes at Watkins Glen 6 Hours

  • Watkins Glen 6 Hours, JDC Miller Motorsports, #99 Gainsco Oreca
  • Watkins Glen 6 Hours, JDC Miller Motorsports, #99 Gainsco Oreca
  • Watkins Glen 6 Hours
  • Watkins Glen 6 Hours

JDC-Miller Motorsports’ Stephen Simpson, Mikhail Goikhberg and Chris Miller are the overall winners of the Six Hours of The Glen, the sixth round of the 2018 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. For the trio in the #99 Gainsco Oreca, it’s the first win this season.

They defeated another Oreca LMP2 prototype of CORE Autosport, driven by Romain Dumas, Jon Bennett and Colin Braun, by just 1.954 seconds. Juan Pablo Montoya and Dane Cameron finished third in the #6 Team Penske Acura DPi.

Watkins Glen 6 Hours, #66 Ford GT

Ford takes victory in GTLM class

The winners in GTLM class are Dirk Muller and Joey Hand in the #66 Chip Ganassi Ford GT. Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen finished second in the #3 Chevrolet Corvette, just 1.592 seconds behind the winners. Patrick Pilet and Nick Tandy completed the GTLM podium in the #911 Porsche 911 RSR.

The GTD class victory went to Turner Motorsport’s #96 BMW M6 GT3, driven by Markus Palttala, Dillon Machavern and Don Yount. The margin between victorious BMW and second-placed #86 Acura NSX GT3 was just 1.295 seconds. The drivers of the #86 Acura were Alvaro Parente and Katherine Legge. Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow took the third podium spot in the #48 Lamborghini Huracan GT3.

Watkins Glen 6 Hours, Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3

Turner Motorsport celebrated victory in GTD class

Check the full results of the Watkins Glen 6 Hours

Photos: IMSA,

Related Posts