Jean-Eric Vergne is the Formula E champion again!

  • Jean Eric Vergne Techeetah Champion 2019

The fifth season of the FIA Formula E Championship has been closed with New York’s double-header event. The race winners are Sebastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing) but Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) defended his lead and became the champion for the second year in a row. In the end, he collected 136 points over thirteen races, seventeen more than Buemi. DS Techeetah had a double celebration because they secured Team’s championship title.

Sebastien Buemi became the ninth different winner this season when he won the first race of the New York City ePrix on Saturday, after starting the race from pole position.

He shared a podium with Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing) and Antonio Felix da Costa (BMW i Andretti Motorsport). Jean-Eric Vergne crashed out, scoring no points, while his closest rival Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) finished fifth and closed the gap to 22 points behind Vergne.

JeanEric Vergne Techeetah

Jean-Eric Vergne in the #25 DS E-Tense

On Sunday, Alexander Sims (BMW i Andretti Motorsport) started the race from pole but he was unable to defend the lead from Robin Frijns, who scored his second win this year. Sebastien Buemi finished third, securing enough points to finish the season as a runner-up, also thanks to the last-lap crash of Mitch Evans and Lucas di Grassi.

Jean-Eric Vergne started from P12 and controlled the situation during the race. He took no risks but mistakes and bad luck of other drivers brings him to P7, securing him a comfortable advantage in the final classification. He would win the title even if Buemi had won the second race.

Buemi, Vergne, de Grassi

Top 3 drivers of Season 5: Buemi, Vergne and De Grassi

Check the results of the New York City ePrix

Photos: Formula E, Jerome Cambier,

Related Posts