BTCC 2016 season finale - eight drivers are chasing the title

September 29, 2016
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • BTCC 2016 season finale preview
  • BTCC 2016 season finale preview

The 2016 British Touring Car Championship season’s finale will take place at Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit on Sunday, October 2. After nine rounds and twenty-seven races, in which twelve drivers scored victories, eight of them are still in contention to win the 2016 BTCC title.

67 points are in the game, 58 points are the gap between P1 and P8

The current championship leader, with 278 points on his account, is Sam Tordoff (West Surrey Racing).  Each driver should collect approximately sixty-seven points in three races at Brands Hatch, so even eight-placed Jason Plato (220 points) could reach the title. Well, mathematically he could, but it’s hard to believe that such miracle could happen at 3.9-km Grand Prix Circuit on Sunday.

The main Tordoff’s challengers would be Honda’s duo – Gordon Shedden (267 points) and Matt Neal (265 points), but also his teammate Rob Collard (261 points) in the BMW 125i M Sport. Mat Jackson (257 points) and Andrew Jordan (247 points) are not too far, which means that there is a chance to see some of Ford Focus drivers at the top spot in the championship standings. Colin Turkington (Subaru BMR) is in the seventh place, with 241 points, so he also has a chance to achieve good results.

2016 BTCC Sam Tordoff

Sam Tordoff is coming to season’s finale as the championship leader

Twelve different race winners in 2016

Although he is on the top, Sam Tordoff wasn’t the most victorious driver this season. He has two wins (Oulton Park and Rockingham) and seven more podiums. Gordon Shedden and Mat Jackson are two drivers with four wins each,  but their other results were not as good as Tordoff’s which can be a potential problem.

Matt Neal and Colin Turkington were the three-time winners in 2016. The list of the drivers with two wins is longer: Sam Tordoff, Rob Collard, Andrew Jordan, Adam Morgan and Tom Ingram. Jason Plato, Ash Sutton and Aron Smith climbed to the highest step of the podium one time each.

Five out of eight title contenders have the previous experience in clinching the title, with a total of ten outright BTCC titles to their credit: Neal (3 times), Shedden, Turkington and Plato (2 times) and Jordan (one time).

BTCC 2016 season finale preview

Eight title contenders

Points standings before final round:

1. Sam Tordoff (WSR/Team JCT600 with GardX – BMW 125i M Sport) – 278

2. Gordon Shedden (Halfords Yuasa Racing – Honda Civic Type R) – 267

3. Matt Neal (Halfords Yuasa Racing – Honda Civic Type R) – 265

4. Rob Collard (WSR/Team JCT600 with GardX – BMW 125i M Sport) – 261

5. Mat Jackson (Motorbase Performance – Ford Focus) – 257

6. Andrew Jordan (Motorbase Performance/Pirtek Racing – Ford Focus) – 247

7. Colin Turkington (Silverline Subaru BMR –  Subaru Levorg GT) – 241

8. Jason Plato (Silverline Subaru BMR –  Subaru Levorg GT) – 220



Related Posts