New drivers, new teams, new venues for the new Formula E season

October 4, 2016
Featured, News
Alexander S

  • Formula E

The third edition of FIA Formula E championship kicks-off this weekend. There will be many new faces and teams and a couple of regulation changes.

Formula E still searching its identity and trying to find a way to the larger auditorium. The races are quite interesting, the fans are involved via Fan Boost voting, the tracks are interesting but something is still missing to make this racing series more popular. However, two seasons went pretty well and 2016/2017 season could be very important for the further progress.

Formula E test

Formula E pre-season test at Donington Park

The new season brings a couple of changes in both competition and technical regulations.

  • The fastest lap in the race will be awarded one point instead of two like in the previous two seasons
  • The number of races is increased from 10 to 12
  • The permitted amount of regeneration is increased from 100 to 150 kW
  • The maximal weight of the battery cells is increased from 200 to 230 kg
  • The overall weight of the car is decreased from 888 to 880 kg
  • A new front wing with only cosmetic effects is introduced
  • Michelin has introduced a new version of its unique, tread 18-inch Formula E tyres
  • The first-ever autonomous racing car series – Roborace – will be a part of the Formula E support package in season three.

New teams and drivers

The number of teams is the same like in the previous season – 10. However, there are two new teams. Jaguar Racing is the new name in the series, just like Techeetah, a Chinese-owned team that has taken over Team Aguri.

Jaguar Formula E

Jaguar is one of the new teams in Formula E

The new drivers in the series are a well-known names, with an experience in formula racing. Probably the best-known new driver is Jose Maria Lopez. The three-time WTCC champion will drive for DS Virgin and it will be interesting to see how the Argentinian will settle in the new environment. Other newcomers to the championship are Maro Engel, Adam Carroll, Ma Qing Hua, Mitch Evans, and Felix Rosenqvist.

Antonio Felix da Costa and Jean-Eric Vergne are staying in Formula E but with new teams. Simona de Silvestro, Bruno Senna, and Mike Conway left the series.

Sebastien Buemi

Sebastien Buemi and Renault e.Dams are the title defenders

Sebastien Buemi will try to defend his crown, won after huge battle Lucas di Grassi throughout the whole 2015/2016 campaign, while Renault e.Dams will try to take Teams’ championship title for the third time.

Plenty of new venues

There is no less than five new cities that will host ePrix races for the first time – Hong Kong, Marrakech, Brussels, Montreal, and New York what should increase fans base. For the first time, two cities will host two rounds at the end of the season.

Monaco ePrix Formula E

Monaco ePrix

2016/2017 FIA Formula E calendar

9 October 2016: Hong Kong ePrix

12 November 2016: Marrakech ePrix

18 February 2017: Buenos Aires ePrix

1 April 2017: Mexico City ePrix

13 May 2017: Monaco ePrix

20 May 2017: Paris ePrix

10 June 2017: Berlin ePrix

1 July 2017: Brussels ePrix

15/16 July 2017: New York ePrix (2 races)

29/30 July 2017: Montreal ePrix (2 races)

Teams and Drivers

Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler: Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt

MS Amlin Andretti: Robin Frijns and Antonio Felix da Costa

DS Virgin Racing: Sam Bird and Jose Maria Lopez

Faraday Future Dragon Racing: Jerome D’Ambrosio and Loic Duval

Panasonic Jaguar Racing: Adam Carroll and Mitch Evans

Mahindra Racing: Nick Heidfeld and Felix Rosenqvist

NextEV NIO: Nelson Piquet Jr and Oliver Turvey

Renault e.Dams: Nicolas Prost and Sebastien Buemi

Techeetah: Jean-Eric Vergne and Ma Qing Hua

Venturi: Stephane Sarrazin and Maro Engel

Related Posts