Takuma Sato wins the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500

  • Takuma Sato, 2017 Indianapolis 500 winner
  • Takuma Sato, Andretti Autosport, Indianapolis 500

Takuma Sato sensationally wins the Indianapolis 500. In the 101st edition of the greatest American race, the 40-year-old Japanese driver scores his second IndyCar victory in a career and brings the fifth Indy 500 win to Andretti Autosport.

To score the greatest result in his career, Sato has to hold off three-time winner Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) in the thrilling shootout over the final five laps. The rookie Ed Jones (Dale Coyne Racing) completed the podium to make Indy 500 results even more sensational.

Max Chilton was the first driver next to podium holders, finishing in the fourth place. Tony Kanaan, Juan Pablo Montoya, Alexander Rossi, Marco Andretti, Gabby Chaves and Carlos Munoz completed the top 10. Of 33 starters, nineteen drivers were in the running mood at the end of the race, sixteen of them completed all 200 laps.

Scott Dixon's crash at Indianapolis 500

Scott Dixon’s crash at Indianapolis 500

Polesitter Scott Dixon suffered a nasty crash on Lap 53, fortunately without injuries. He went airborne after collecting Jay Howard’s car which hit the wall previously. Dixon’s car was desintregrated but the New Zealander walked away unharmed. After that crash, the race was red-flagged for about twenty minutes.

The next two drivers out of race were Conor Daly and Jack Harvey, who damaged their cars in separate incidents on lap 66. The next yellow flag period caused by crash followed on lap 122, when Buddy Lazier spun and went into wall at Turn 2. He was complaining on injuries and was transported into a hospital.

Fernando Alonso, 2017 Indy 500

Fernando Alonso didn’t reach the checkered flag

In the second part of the race, Andretti Autosport lost two front-runners because of engine problems. Ryan Hunter-Reay retired after 137 when he was in the third place. Fernando Alonso was running in the seventh place before the engine of his Dallara-Honda expired on lap 179.

At the restart on lap 183 the Big One put four drivers out of race – Oriol Servia, James Davison, Will Power and James Hinchcliffe. Josef Newgarden also was involved into pile-up but he managed to reach the pits and recovered to end the race.

Oriol Servia and James Davison initiated a Big One on lap 183

Oriol Servia and James Davison initiated a Big One on lap 183

Check the full results of 101st running of Indianapolis 500

Photos: indycar.com,

Related Posts