So many champions on the entry list for the inaugural WTCR season

  • 2018 WTCR preview
  • 2018 WTCR preview
  • 2018 WTCR preview

The inaugural season of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup will kick-off this weekend at Circuit Moulay El Hassan in Marrakech, Morocco. A new premier touring car competition, which has been established with a merger of the WTCC and TCR International Series, will gather together the best drivers from both series.

Eleven teams are representing seven manufacturers and they announced 25 cars as full-time entries in the inaugural WTCR season. Both last year’s champions, the WTCC champion Thed Bjork and TCR International champion Jean-Karl Vernay, will fight for another title.

Thed Bjork and Yvan Muller will be teammates in 2018

Thed Bjork and Yvan Muller will be teammates in 2018

Bjork will drive the #11 Hyundai i30 N TCR for Yvan Muller Racing, alongside touring car legend and four-time WTCC champ Yvan Muller in the #48 car.

Vernay will drive the #69 Audi RS3 LMS TCR for Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team, together with three-time British touring car champion Gordon Shedden as a teammate in the #52 Audi.

Jean-Karl Vernay (left) and Gordon Shedden (right)

Jean-Karl Vernay (left) and Gordon Shedden (right) during the WTCR Media Launch

Besides four men we mentioned, there would be so many other former champions on the grid. The oldest among them is the 56-year-old Gabriele Tarquini, who will drive the #30 Hyundai i30 N TCR for BRC Racing Team. His teammate would be last year’s WTCC vice-champion Norbert Michelisz.

Two other Italian veterans Fabrizio Giovanardi (51) and Gianni Morbidelli (50) will form the oldest pair on the grid, in two Alfa Romeo Giuliettas of the Team Mulsanne.

 Gianni Morbidelli and Farbrizio Giovanardi

The oldest, or better to say the most experienced pair on the grid – Gianni Morbidelli and Fabrizio Giovanardi

Two British drivers with several championship titles on their accounts will be rivals – Rob Huff in the #12 Sebastien Loeb Racing’s Volkswagen Golf and James Thompson in the #15 Münnich Motorsport’s Honda Civic Type R.

Belgian team Boutsen Ginion Racing will also run two Hondas for two experienced drivers – Tom Coronel and Tiago Monteiro. Unfortunately, Monteiro is still not fit following his last year’s injury so he would be replaced by TCR Benelux champion Benjamin Lessennes in the season-opening race at Marrakech.

Boutsen Ginion Racing's drivers: Tiago Monteiro, Ben Lessennes and Tom Coronel

Boutsen Ginion Racing’s drivers: Tiago Monteiro, Ben Lessennes and Tom Coronel

2018 WTCR entry list

Team CarNumberDriver
BRC Racing TeamHyundai i30 N TCR5Norbert Michelisz
30Gabriele Tarquini
DG Sport CompetitionPeugeot 308 TCR7Aurelien Comte
70Mato Homola
Zengő MotorsportCupra Leon TCR8Norbert Nagy
66Zsolt Szabo
Boutsen Ginion RacingHonda Civic Type R TCR9Tom Coronel
18Tiago Monteiro
63Benjamin Lessennes
Team MulsanneAlfa Romeo Giulietta TCR10Gianni Morbidelli
88Fabrizio Giovanardi
Yvan Muller RacingHyundai i30 N TCR11Thed Björk
48Yvan Muller
Sebastien Loeb RacingVolkswagen Golf GTI TCR12Rob Huff
25Mehdi Bennani
ALL-INKL.COM Münnich MotorsportHonda Civic Type R TCR15James Thompson
68Yann Ehrlacher
86Esteban Guerrieri
Comtoyou RacingAudi RS3 LMS TCR20Denis Dupont
21Aurelien Panis
22Frederic Vervisch
23Nathanael Berthon
Campos RacingCupra Leon TCR27John Filippi
74Pepe Oriola
Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil TeamAudi RS3 LMS TCR52Gordon Shedden
69Jean-Karl Vernay

Photos: Francois Flamand, Paulo Maria/DPPI,

Related Posts