WTCR: Hyundai and Honda shared victories at Nordschleife

  • WTCR Nurburgring
  • Yvan Muller, Thed Bjork, WTCR Nurburgring
  • Esteban Guerrieri WTCR Nurburgring

Yvan Muller, Thed Björk and Esteban Guerrieri are the winners of three races in the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup meeting at Nürburgring Nordschleife, the third round of the 2018 WTCR season.

Two drivers of Yvan Muller Racing’s Hyundai i30 N TCRs clinched victories in Race 1 and Race 3. Björk started from pole in both races but he was defeated by his team boss in the first race. The third man on a podium was Rob Huff (Sebastien Loeb Racing, VW Golf GTI TCR)

In Race 3, the last year’s WTCC champion managed to convert his pole position into his first win of the season. Muller was on the podium again, finishing third. Frederic Vervisch (Comtoyou Racing, Audi RS3 LMS) was second.

In the second race, in which drivers started from the reversed grid, Argentinean in the #86 Honda Civic Type R TCR of Münnich Motorsport progressed from P3 to his first win of the season. Guerrieri shared a podium with Pepe Oriola (Campos Racing, Cupra TCR) and Frederic Vervisch.

WTCR Nürburgring Nordschleife

Yvan Muller Racing’s Hyundais clinched two wins at Nürburgring

After three rounds and nine races, with seven different race winners, four Hyundai drivers lead the championship. Yvan Muller is on the top with 137 points. Gabriele Tarquini (BRC Racing Team) follows with 118 points, six more than Thed Bjork. Tarquini’s teammate Norbert Michelisz is further ten points down in the fourth place. Münnich Motorsport’s Yann Ehrlacher is the best non-Hyundai driver in the fifth place.

The next round of the 2018 WTCR season is scheduled for May 20-21 at Circuit Zandvoort.

Check the full results of WTCR races at Nurburgring

Photos: Florent Gooden, Francois Flamand/DPPI,

Related Posts