IndyCar: Pole for Will Power in the last race of the season

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power (Team Penske) will start from pole in today’s last race of the season at Sonoma Raceway. In the qualifications for GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Power reset his year-old track record to earn the Verizon P1 Award. He lapped the 2.385-mile 12-turn track in 1.16.2597.


Four of the six championship contenders will start from the first three rows for the title-deciding race – Josef Newgarden (CFH Racing) is 2nd, Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske) is 5th and Graham Rahal (RLL Racing) is sixth. Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing) qualified ninth and Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) was 15th.


Power claimed his sixth pole start of the season and 42nd of his career. Track records have been reset six times, including four by Power in #1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet. “I’m really stoked. I love qualifying and very happy to end the year with a pole position. Lots of points on the table; we’ll go for that win”, said Power. 85-lap race carries double points along with bonus points for the pole (one point), leading a lap (one) and leading the most laps (two).


25 drivers will race in season’s finale. Juan Pablo Montoya leads the championship standings by 34 points over Graham Rahal. There are six drivers eligible for the title so there are so many combinations which can decide the new (or even old) champion. Instead of calculations, we’ll eagerly wait for the race…


Here are the complete qualification results.




Related Posts