Yann Ehrlacher wins at Zandvoortno points for championship leaders

  • Yann Ehrlacher, WTCR Zandvoort
  • Yann Ehrlacher Zandvoort
  • WTCR race at Circuit Park Zandvoort

Yann Ehrlacher (ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport) wins the first race of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup meeting at Circuit Park Zandvoort, the fourth round of the 2018 WTCR season.

It’s the second win of the season for the 21-year-old Ehrlacher and he’s now second in the championship standings after ten races, together with Gabriele Tarquini who didn’t finish the race. The championship leader is still Yvan Muller, Ehrlacher’s uncle, who also didn’t score points today.

The driver of the #68 Honda Civic Type R TCR shared a podium with Aurelien Comte (DG Sport Competition, Peugeot 308) and Rob Huff (Sebastien Loeb Racing, VW Golf).

WTCR race at Circuit Park Zandvoort

WTCR race at Circuit Park Zandvoort

Ehrlacher started from the front row, next to the polesitter Rub Huff, and he took the lead on the opening lap. The race was stopped soon following an accident of two Hyundais of Norbert Michelisz and championship leader Yvan Muller. On the restart, Ehrlacher defended a lead and stayed in front until the end of the race.

Gordon Shedden finished fourth in Team WRT’s Audi RS3 LMS after few unsuccessful attacks against Rob Huff. Shedden’s teammate Jean-Karl Vernay completed the top 5. The other point-scorers are Esteban Guerrieri, Tom Coronel, Mehdi Bennani, Nathanael Berthon and Aurelien Panis.

Two more WTCR races at Zandvoort are scheduled for tomorrow.

Yann Ehrlacher Zandvoort 2

Circuit Park Zandvoort is a happy place for Yann Ehrlacher

Check the full results of the WTCR meeting at Zandvoort

Photos: Francois Flamand/DPPI,

Related Posts