Prema Powerteam - 100 percent of success guaranteed

  • Prema Powerteam, F1 GP, Malaysia
  • Prema Powerteam, F3, Pau, Ravenol
  • Prema Powerteam, F3, Hockenheim, 2017, Ravenol
  • Prema Powerteam, F1 GP, Monaco
  • Prema Powerteam, F4 test, Misano, 2016

Prema Powerteam is an Italian private racing team that captured many championship titles in different open-wheel racing ladder series in the last thirty years. Their most recent achievements include the 2016 GP2 Series titles both for the team and Pierre Gasly, as well as the 2016 Formula 3 European Championship titles for Lance Stroll and Prema Powerteam.

Some of the previous Prema’s F3, F4, and Formula Renault champions were Kamui Kobayashi, Ryan Briscoe, Roberto Merhi, Dani Juncadella, Raffaele Marciello, Esteban Ocon, and Felix Rosenqvist, among others. Some other drivers who started racing with Prema and became champions later in their careers are Dindo Capello, Gabriele Tarquini, Fabrizio Giovanardi, Robert Kubica, Jacques Villeneuve and Valtteri Bottas.

Prema Powerteam GP2 Series, Monaco, 2016

Prema Powerteam took the 2016 GP2 Series title

Prema Racing was founded in 1983

The Prema Racing team was founded in 1983 by Angelo Rosin and Giorgio Piccolo. Based in Grisignano di Zocco, the team entered the Italian Formula 3 Championship which was the team’s first competition.

The beginning wasn’t easy, so the team had to wait six years until its first big success, the victory at the 1989 Monaco Grand Prix for Antonio Tamburini. The next year, Roberto Colciago brought the first championship trophy to the team, winning the 1990 Italian F3 Championship.

Prema Powerteam, FIA F3

One of first Prema’s titles was at the 1990 Italian F3 Championship

Prema Powerteam since 1994

In 1994, changes within the company dictated the name-change to Prema Powerteam, and it expanded its activities to the international level. Two more Italian F3 titles followed in 1998 and 1999, with Donny Crevels and Peter Sundberg as champions.

In 2000, Prema was chosen as a partner for Toyota Young Drivers Program, proving that the team was recognized as a high-quality and professional squad that can develop young racing drivers. In the next couple of years, Prema’s commitments expanded to German Formula 3, Formula Renault and Formula 3 Euro Series.

Ryan Briscoe, Prema Powerteam, 2003

Ryan Briscoe was a champion with Prema two times

First international title for Prema’s driver came in 2003

First championship title in one of the team’s expanded series came in 2001 when Ryan Briscoe became the Italian Formula Renault Champion. Two years later, Franck Perera was the Italian Formula Renault champion, while Ryan Briscoe took the 2003 Formula 3 Euro Series title, driving the Mercedes-powered Dallara F303.

Prema’s next champion was Kamui Kobayashi, who won both the Italian and European Formula Renault championships in 2005. In 2006, Prema Powerteam entered the Formula Renault 3.5 Series and stayed in the competition until 2009. In that period, the biggest success was the second place for Ben Hanley in 2007.

Prema Powerteam, FIA F3

In 2011, Prema started its domination in Formula 3

Maiden teams’ trophy in the 2010 Formula Abarth

In 2010, Prema Powerteam finally reached its first championship title in teams’ category, winning the Formula Abarth competition. Since then, Prema became one of the most successful European motorsport teams, winning more than ten international championship titles until 2016, especially dominating in the European F3 competitions.

Prema swept the Formula 3 Euro Series titles in 2011 and 2012, winning both teams’ and drivers’ trophies. The championship winning drivers were Roberto Merhi in 2011 and Dani Juncadella in 2012. The winning streak continued in the 2013 Formula 3 European Championship< and lasted until 2016, with four more double triumphs. The champions were Raffaele Marciello (2013), Esteban Ocon (2014), Felix Rosenqvist (2015) and Lance Stroll (2016).

Prema Powerteam, ADAC F4, Hockenheim

ADAC F4 title is one of four Prema’s trophies in 2016

2016 – four titles in four championships for Prema

From 2014 to 2016, Prema also dominated in the Italian Formula 4, winning three consecutive teams’ titles. Drivers Lance Stroll and Ralf Aron were the Italian F4 champions in 2014 and 2015. In 2016, Prema’s driver Mick Schumacher finished second in the points both in the Italian and the German Formula 4, while the team took the championship trophies in both competitions.

Prema added two more titles to its account in 2016, converting that year into the most successful season in the team’s history. In its debuting season in the GP2 Series, Prema Powerteam had two championship contenders until the last race and celebrated a double triumph at the end of the season, taking the teams’ trophy and GP2 title for Pierre Gasly. Antonio Giovinazzi finished second.

Prema Powerteam GP2 Series, Abu Dhabi test, 2016

Prema Powerteam dominated the GP2 Series in 2016

Ready for the 2017 GP2 season with Ferrari juniors

After a 100-percent success rate in 2016, with four teams’ titles in four championships as well as two drivers’ title, Prema is ready for the new challenges in 2017. Backed up by motivated, skilled drivers, and some of the latest technology in the industry supplied by RAVENOL, the team has announced two Ferrari Driver Academy members (Antonio Fuoco and Charles Leclerc) as its representatives for theĀ 2017 GP2 Series.

Antonio Giovinazzi, Prema, Sepang, 2016

Prema is looking to continue the GP2 domination in 2017


Related Posts