IndyCar: Dixon wins at The Glen, Pagenaud is a step closer to the title

  • Scott Dixon, IndyCar Watkins Glen
  • IndyCar Series, Watkins Glen
  • IndyCar Series, Watkins Glen podium

Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing) wins the IndyCar Series race at the Watkins Glen International, the penultimate round of 2016 season. Dixon was the absolutely dominant driver at The Glen for whole weekend, sweeping all the runs at the American classic circuit, from practice sessions, throught out the qualifying and finally he was the leader for the most laps in the the 60-lap race. He lost the lead only in few ocassions when pitted for the fuel and tyres. It was Dixon’s second win of the season and 40th career win.

Josef Newgarden (Ed Carpenter Racing) and Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) completed the podium in the exciting race which was interrupted by three caution periods. One of the victims of The Glen was the second-placed driver in the championship order Will Power, who crashed out into the barrier after a contact with Charlie Kimball on Lap 39.

IndyCar Series, 2016 Watkins Glen, Rahal

Graham Rahal was one of three drivers who crashed out at The Glen

Power’s crash helped the championship leader and Team Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud, who finished seventh at The Glen and increased his lead over Will Power from 28 points to 43 points, with one more race to go, on September 18 at Sonoma Raceway.

Prior to Will Power, Mikhail Aleshin crashed out after the tyre explode on his #7 Honda during Lap 15 and Graham Rahal wrecked the car soon after the restart on Lap 20, after a contact with Charlie Kimball.

Check the full results of the IndyCar Series at The Glen


Related Posts