Entry list for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500

  • 101st running of the Indianapolis 500
  • The 2017 Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport Indianapolis 500 Pace Car at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

It’s all set for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500, not only the main race of the IndyCar Series but also one of the world’s greatest motorsport events.

The month of May activities at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway formally started with the fourth running of the IndyCar Grand Prix, in which Will Power triumphed for the second time. A program of the Indianapolis 500 starts on Monday, May 15, when thirty-three drivers will hit the 2.5-mile IMS oval during the first practice session.

Qualifying time-trials are scheduled for May 20-21, when we would know a name of the polesitter. The Carb Day, the traditional final day of practice, is scheduled for Friday, May 26. The annual Pit Stop Challenge would be held on that day. And then, the race, on May 28.

The entry list consists of 33 drivers, divided to 18 Hondas and 15 Chevrolets. Among them, there are seven drivers who previously wrote their names on the famed Borg-Warner Trophy for winning the Indianapolis 500.

Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Seven former winners and four rookies on the grid

The former winners include reigning champion Alexander Rossi, who scored an underdog victory as a rookie last year. The others are Buddy Lazier (1996), Juan Pablo Montoya (2000 and 2015), Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002 and 2009), Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014). Only three drivers in a history scored four wins at Indianapolis 500 –  AJ Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears. Would be Helio Castroneves the fourth on the list, we will see on May 28.

All of the regular 2017 IndyCar entrants are on the list. They would be joined by the drivers for whom the Indy 500 will be the one-off attempt. That list includes former winner and IndyCar veteran Buddy Lazier, two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso, the only female driver Pippa Mann, Gabby Chaves, Sebastian Saavedra, Oriol Servia and Jay Howard. Four rookies are announced for the race, including Alonso and three Mazda Road to Indy graduates Jack Harvey, Ed Jones and Zach Veach.

Indianapolis 500 entry list

NumberTeam EngineDriver
1Team PenskeChevroletSimon Pagenaud
2Team PenskeChevroletJosef Newgarden
3Team PenskeChevroletHelio Castroneves
4A.J. Foyt EnterprisesChevroletConor Daly
5Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsHondaJames Hinchcliffe
7Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsHondaMikhail Aleshin
8Chip Ganassi RacingHondaMax Chilton
9Chip Ganassi RacingHondaScott Dixon
10Chip Ganassi RacingHondaTony Kanaan
11Juncos RacingChevroletSpencer Pigot
12Team PenskeChevroletWill Power
14A.J. Foyt EnterprisesChevroletCarlos Munoz
15Rahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHondaGraham Rahal
16Rahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHondaOriol Servia
17Juncos RacingChevroletSebastian Saavedra
18Dale Coyne RacingHondaSebastien Bourdais
19Dale Coyne RacingHondaEd Jones
20Ed Carpenter RacingChevroletEd Carpenter
21Ed Carpenter RacingChevroletJ.R. Hildebrand
22Team PenskeChevroletJuan Pablo Montoya
24Dreyer & Reinbold RacingChevroletSage Karam
26Andretti AutosportHondaTakuma Sato
27Andretti AutosportHondaMarco Andretti
28Andretti AutosportHondaRyan Hunter-Reay
29McLaren-Honda-AndrettiHondaFernando Alonso
40A.J. Foyt EnterprisesChevroletZach Veach
49Lazier Partners RacingChevroletBuddy Lazier
50Michael Shank Racing with Andretti AutosportHondaJack Harvey
63Dale Coyne RacingHondaPippa Mann
77Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsHondaJay Howard
83Chip Ganassi RacingHondaCharlie Kimball
88Harding RacingChevroletGabby Chaves
98Andretti Herta Autosport with Curb AgajanianHondaAlexander Rossi

Photos: indycar.com,

Related Posts