Simon Pagenaud wins the Indy 500, gives the 18th win to The Captain

  • Simon Pagenaud Indy500 champ
  • Simon Pagenaud Indy500 winner
  • Simon Pagenaud Indy500 champ
  • Simon Pagenaud Indy500

Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) wins the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500 in the #22 Chevrolet. It’s his first win at the greatest American race and the 18th Indy 500 victory for his team boss Roger Penske ‘The Captain’. For Pagenaud, it’s his 13th IndyCar Series victory in a career and the fourth at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, following three previous wins in the Indy Grand Prix.

Pagenaud started the race from pole and led for the most of the race. After 200 laps, he defeated 2016 Indy 500 winner Alexander Rossi (Andretti Autosport) by 0.2086 seconds on the finish line. Another former winner, Takuma Sato (RLL Racing), completed the podium with the third-place finish.

The championship leader Josef Newgarden (Team Penske) finished the race fourth, ahead of teammate and last year’s winner Will Power. Ed Carpenter was sixth, followed by the best rookie Santino Ferrucci (Dale Coyne Racing). Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport), Tony Kanaan (AJ Foyt Enterprises) and Conor Daly (Andretti Autosport) completed the top 10.

Simon Pagenaud Indy500

Simon Pagenaud’s victorious #22 Chevrolet

Check the results of the Indianapolis 500

Photos: IndyCar Series, Team Penske,

Related Posts