Pagenaud's second win at Indianapolis Grand Prix, third win in the season

  • 2016 Indianapolis Grand Prix, Simon Pagenaud winner

Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) wins the Grand Prix of Indianapolis. This is Pagenaud’s second victory at the 2.439-mile permanent road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and his third victory in a row in the 2016 IndyCar season. After five events the Frenchman is in the comfortable lead in the general classification, with 76 points over Scott Dixon. Except three wins, Pagenaud had two-runner up finishes.

At Indianapolis GP, Pagenaud started from pole and he led for much of the race, 57 of 82 laps. He lost the lead in the middle of the race but regained the leading position after pitting on Lap 63. After that, he never looked back and took the win with 4.474sec advantage ahead of teammate Helio Castroneves. Pagenaud’s seventh career Indy car win is also the 181st Indy car victory for Team Penske, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year.

Simon Pagenaud's #22 Team Penske Chevrolet, Indianapolis Grand Prix

Simon Pagenaud’s #22 Team Penske Chevrolet

James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports) had his best run of the season, starting and finishing third. Graham Rahal (RLL Racing) made a massive progress and came from 24th starting position to fourth at the end while Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi) was fifth. Conor Daly led for 14 laps in the middle of the race and finished sixth.

Next round of the 2016 IndyCar Series is the historic 100th Running of the Indianapolis on May 29. The action at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway will continue on Monday, May 16th with the first practice for Indy 500. The qualifying session is scheduled for May 21-22.

Full results of the Indianapolis Grand Prix


Related Posts