IndyCar Series: Graham Rahal won Firestone 600 by 0.008 seconds

  • Graham Rahal wins Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway
  • Firestone 600 finish caught by high-speed camera

Graham Rahal is the winner of the Firestone 600 race at Texas Motor Speedway. The race, which started on June 12 and was canceled because of heavy rainfall, ended with the closest finish ever in the history of Texas Motor Speedway’s 1.455-mile oval. Rahal beats James Hinchcliffe by just 0.008 seconds, which was the fifth-closest finish in the IndyCar Series history.

The Firestone 600 resumed after a 76-day postponement with James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Motorsport) leading the field to the restart on Lap 74. In the  remaining 174 laps Hinchcliffe was the leader for most of the race, collecting 188 leading laps in total. But, on the last lap Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Racing) steals the show and scores his fourth IndyCar win of the career.

Tony Kanaan (Chip Ganassi Racing) completed the podium, ahead of championship leader Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske). Pagenaud now has a 28-points lead over teammate Will Power, who finished eighth in Texas.

Nine drivers remain mathematically alive for the championship with two races remaining. The next race would be at Watkins Glen International on September 4.

Check the full results of the Firestone 600 race


Related Posts