Hamilton easily takes pole position in Mexico

  • Lewis Hamilton

For the 10th time in 2016, Lewis Hamilton will start the race from pole position. The reigning champion was the fastest in the qualifying for the Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix, again beating the championship leader and his teammate Nico Rosberg.

The first round was quite interesting because the Mercedes weren’t dominant as usual. Lewis Hamilton set the best time (1:19.447) but Nico Rosberg was 6th. Red Bulls and Ferraris looked well and fast, prepared to fight with the Silver Arrows.

Pascal Wehrlein Manor

Pascal Wehrlein surprised in the qualifying for the Mexican Grand Prix

Jolyon Palmer sat out qualifying session due to chassis damage, so he will start from the last place in the race. Daniil Kvyat also failed to qualify for the second round, as well Romain Grosjean, Esteban Gutierrez, Felipe Nasr, and Esteban Ocon.

Max Verstappen Red Bull

Max Verstappen during qualifying in Mexico

Max Verstappen topped Q2 with a lap time 1:18.972 what was 0.155s better than Hamilton’s time, while Rosberg again looked unconvincing after he was 5th in this round., behind Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo. Fernando Alonso, Sergio Perez, Jenson Button, Kevin Magnussen, Pascal Wehrlein, and Marcus Ericsson remained below the line of top 10.

However, when it was most important, Mercedes proved its strength. Lewis Hamilton won the pole position in front of Nico Rosberg, by 0.254s. Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo will start from the second row, so we’ll have an interesting battle on Sunday.

Nico Rosberg Mercedes

Nico Rosberg, Mercedes

Nico Hulkenberg did a great job finishing 5th in the qualifying and was followed by Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas, Felipe Massa, and Carlos Sainz Jr.

Check the full results at SnapLap results page!

Photo: formula1.com

Related Posts