Ten-event calendar announced for the 2018 WTCR season

December 22, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • Vila Real street circuit
  • Suzuka Circuit WTCC

The race calendar for all-new WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup has been announced today. In 2018, the new touring car competition will visit ten races tracks over four continents. Nine venues are already set, one calendar slot is still free and two events are under consideration.

Same as the previous season of the FIA World Touring Car Championship, the WTCR will kick off in April in Africa, at the Marrakech street circuit, also known as the Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan. The season’s finale is set for November 15-18 at the famous Macau Guia Circuit.

There is one more street circuit on the calendar, the one in Portugal’s Vila Real. Hungaroring, Nürburgring Nordschleife, Termas de Rio Hondo and Ningbo International Speedpark are back after WTCC visited all those tracks in 2017.

Zandvoort will host its first FIA world touring car event since 2007. Suzuka has been chosen as the venue of the Japanese round instead of Twin Ring Motegi. The event will take place together with the Super Formula finale.

The tenth event is due to be added on either July 21-22 or October 6-7 depending on the result of ongoing negotiations with two parties.

“Publication of the provisional schedule marks another important step ahead of the inaugural FIA WTCR season in 2018. The nine selected events will not only offer a great variety of circuits to drivers and teams, but will also mean that WTCR races take place in front of big crowds. We are in discussions with two potential locations, which Eurosport Events has not worked with before, to select one additional event for FIA WTCR schedule, and we hope to conclude these as soon as possible,” said Francois Ribeiro, Head of Eurosport Events, WTCR promoter.

2018 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup calendar

April 7-8Marrakech
April 28-29Hungaroring
May 10-12Nürburgring Nordschleife
May 19-21Zandvoort
June 23-24Vila Real
July 21-22TBC
August 4-5Termas de Rio Hondo
September 29-30Ningbo
October 6-7TBC
October 27-28Suzuka
November 15-18Macau

Related Posts